Contact Us


Capital One World Women’s Championship 2011 starts Friday

March 15, 2011

The 2011 Capital One World Women’s Curling Championship presented by Mount Titlis, taking place in the Granly Hockey Arena, Esjberg, will have the honour of a royal opening, with His Royal Highness Crown Prince Frederik of Denmark throwing the first ceremonial stone as the culmination of the opening ceremony, scheduled for 18.15 (local/CET) on Friday 18th March 2011.

After this, twelve of the best women’s teams in the world will battle it out in seventeen sessions of round-robin play, scheduled from straight after the opening ceremony on Friday 18th March until the evening of Thursday 24th March.

Page Play-off games will follow, with the medal games taking place on Sunday 27th March. The full schedule of play is here

It is the first time in the 33 year history of the World Women’s Championship that Denmark has staged the event. The twelve teams who have qualified to compete are: Canada, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Korea, Norway, Russia, Scotland, Sweden, Switzerland and the USA.

While there are many familiar names among the competitors, there are also many new names and team combinations.

Reigning Women’s World Champion Andrea Schöpp of Germany has qualified to defend her title with a slightly changed team line-up. Two-timed Olympic Gold Medallist, Sweden’s Anette Norberg, skips a new team.

Other well-known skips and teams taking part include 2009 World Champion Bingyu Wang and her team from China; Denmark’s Lene Neilsen; Switzerland’s Mirjam Ott; Norway’s Linn Githmark; Russia’s Liudmila Privivkova; and – making her first appearance at a Women’s World Championship since 2004 - Patti Lank, representing the USA.

Among the newcomers are Saskatchewan’s Amber Holland, who won her first Canadian Women’s Championship title earlier in the year; Anna Kubeskova of the Czech Republic who won the final European spot in Esbjerg by winning the challenge game at the 2010 European Championships; Korea’s Ji-Sun Kim represented the host nation when the World Championship was staged in South Korea in 2009 but returns this year skipping the team that won the Pacific Championships Women’s title and finally, Anna Sloan from Scotland, who skips a team which, including herself, has four members who have just won Gold at the 2011 World Junior Curling Championships in Perth, Scotland.

It will be the 33rd World Women’s Championship since the event began in 1979. In that time Canada has won the title a record 15 times, with Sweden claiming it 7 times.

World Curling TV, the television-making arm of the World Curling Federation, will be onsite producing extensive TV and web coverage for broadcasters around the world. This live coverage can be seen across Europe on Eurosport and will also be available live and on demand on the Eurosport Player In Canada, TSN will air daily live coverage of the round robin stage of the event and final stages. In the United States, the footage can be seen on Universal Sports. In China CCTV-5 will carry extensive live coverage of the whole event and Brazil’s Globo SporTV will air the semi final and finals. Complete coverage details can be seen here

Information about how to buy Tickets for the event can be found here:

TV and Web coverage from the event:

Event website for news, photos & results:

Event Facebook: 

All results, news and photos will be mirrored on the WCF website:

Official Title Sponsor Official Presenting Sponsor Official Main Sponsor
  Official Local Partners  
Official Local Sponsor Official Local Media Partners Official WCF Suppliers

The Capital One World Women's Curling Championship
Proudly brought to you by